"Best coffee in Bali !!! "

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed January 2017

And breakfast amazing granola bowls !

Amanda Neville

 

"My favorite coffee in Ubud!"

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed January 2017

The baristas will cut open coconuts and blend the coconut water with coconut meat to make fresh coconut milk for your drinks!

Staff is always so friendly and accommodating, and serious perfectionists when it comes to preparing drinks.

Coffee always taste fresh and delicious!

Jennie Terranova

 

“Great coffee!”

5 of 5 Stars - Visited February 2017

Really good coffee in the center of Ubud. Also, reasonably priced. If you need these two cups of coffee in the morning to open your eyes, go there! A simple but very nice place with lovely staff! 

Natalia D., Kampot, Cambodia

 

“You have to look hard to find really good coffee, this is one place that has it”

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed 2 days ago NEW - November 2016

Usually in Bali American style coffee is the go, and for many that's not really very appealing. It's improving and Freak Coffee is well up on the scale.

Davenbeth, Sydney, Australia

 

“Great coffee”

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW November 2016

Whether you want a latte or an iced coffee this place is the best! Free wifi and also some food if you're a bit peckish.

StephT534, Melbourne, Australia

 

“God kaffe”

4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday November 2, 2016

På Freek Cooffee sad vi ofte udenfor og nød bylivet. God kaffe til rimelige penge og venlig/smilende betjening.

Peter W., Bronderslev, Denmark

 

“Bester Espresso in Indonesien”

5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile - Visited October 2016

"Wir haben auf Trip Advisor dieses Freak Coffee gefunden. Wer morgens einen richtig guten Caffe braucht sollte umbedingt dort hin."

We have found on TripAdvisor this Freak Coffee. Who in the morning a really good Caffe should umbedingt there.

Caterina

 

“Regular Customer”

5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile - Visited October 2016

The best coffee in town! FREAK Coffee wins every time with their coffee and service! When I'm in Ubud I always drink coffee here. Granola is great too. Lovely friendly and helpful staff too. Don't miss the opportunity to drink amazing coffee here.

timster, Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom

 

“Quality Coffee, Service & Ambience at a Fantastic Price”

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW - Visited October 2016

Over 6 days in Ubud Freak Coffee was my morning coffee fix and I'd sometimes go back later in the day for another beverage.
Almost faultless- even though it was not peak tourist season there were always plenty of customers in there.
Great coffee; my favourite was an Americano (15 Rp) with soy milk (add 5Rp.) Diet coke was just a $1! Service was friendly, polite and quick. Such a nice atmosphere, not at all pretentious, and there was a sense that you could just sit and watch the world go by. Nothing better than sitting on their comfy couches and people-watching.Free, quick wi-fi also. Awesome to have vegan treats available, as well as non-vegan traditional menu items.

Avon, Victoria, Australia

 

“Mango smoothie and latte art!”

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff is always so friendly. we came here often during our one month stay in Ubud. Just to read and enjoy great coffee and amazing mango smoothies. The best in town. The man (not sure if he is the owner) that works there is a great latte artist and is incredibly friendly. Definitely recommend!     Kendell M

 

“This coffee got me so high!”

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed September 9, 2016  

Wow. All I can say is that if you crave a proper cold-drip coffee, you will be incredibly satisfied with this place.
They will make you any kind of coffee.
I went every single morning for a iced coconut milk coffee, and was never once disappointed. The best coffee in town.
                   Sophia B.

 

“Great coffee”

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed yesterday NEW - Visited August 2016

A simple down to earth cafe with about the best coffee in Ubud. A very friendly staff and fantastic vibe. Well worth a visit.  Alex D., Victoria Park

 

“Strong coffee, yummy cakes”

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed 2 days ago August 2016

I ordered latte coconut milk and I must said it is really good and the coffee is quite strong. I also have 1 nanaimo cakes which made of choc and shredded coconut .. Taste so gooooddd ... Definitely one of my fave now!                             Musashi81, Jakarta, Indonesia

 

“Great coffee at great prices”

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed yesterday August 2016 NEW

A wonderful place to relax next to a cup of coffee, tea or just a fruit juice. In an excellent location, Freak Coffee is one of the best places in Ubud to have a quick snack (like their fantastic chicken sandwiches) and a fresh roasted coffee (roasted in the same day that you are drinking it) with a gorgeous look and presentation and at a very cheap price. With free (and fast) Wi-Fi connection it is the perfect place to stop, relax and just enjoy the happiness of the place. Take a visit to this cafe - you won't be disappointed.                                                                                                                                        Green Beliefs

 

“Freakin' Great Time at the Freak Coffee House!”

Visited July 2016

I spent a delightful afternoon in the little cafe, Freak Coffee. Sitting with friends, enjoying a nice cappuccino, the afternoon was spent in great conversation, people watching, and enjoying the barista concoctions that were professionally made and beautifully presented! Free WiFi and a beautiful staff made for a wonderful visit!  Gary D., Austin, Texas

 

“Damn awesome coffee”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday - August 2016 NEW via mobile

Today I could drink my best caffè latte since ages. The taste was just amazing. The taste of the coffee was great and the harmonization with the milk excellent. My wife had an iced one and this one was also just yummy. If you feel like having a great coffee for even a good price you need to call in. The staff was also very friendly and pleasant. Furthermore it's a very cosy spot.   Knut R., Berlin, Germany

“Wonderful coffee”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday - Visited July 2016

A truly wonderful cup of coffee in simple but cosy surroundings in a small cafe in the middle of Ubud. If you need a shot of caffeine or just to sit down and relax, this is a great place to do it.      Jesper S.,  Copenhagen, Denmark                                                                                             

“Oh my! I return every time I'm in Ubud ”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday- Visited July 2016

Freak coffee is fantastic! Great coffee, wonderful host, free wifi, cool people, inexpensive and they got raw treats, what else could you ask for?! I also love their green sandwich, nothing fancy but yummy with pesto. They also offer 3-5 different kinds of milk, in case cow milk isn't your cup of tea. I usually go with almond or soy milk for a tiny extra charge. What a chilled place!
Miss Fiebs, Ko Lanta, Thailand
 

“Love it”

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW - Visited July 2016

This is an excellent place and I'll be here everyday while in Ubud. It's quality for a reasonable price.                                        

Joel M

“Great Coffee!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile - Visited July 2016

What a pleasure to find such a good coffee! Didn't think we'd find one so good, had the latte which was served in a cup. Excellent flavour. Just what the doctor ordered.

Andrew W., Melbourne, Australia

 

“Vegan friendly and delicious ”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago - Visited July 2016

I have been craving icecream and was able to get a delicious vegan fix, followed by a soy latte chaser.
This place is great.  Nothing fancy - it's totally unpretentious!                                                                            
TheTravellingHulaGirl

 

“Exceptional Coffee!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Bali has some great coffee. For the whole visit to Ubud the coffee has been great. The coffee here has surpassed all before. Truly excellent coffee. Also had their tasty protein and energy bars. Ice mocha was particularly good.

Christine F

 

“Heerlijke koffie en gezonde hapjes!”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Zoals je in heel Ubud ziet is er genoeg keus als je gezond wil leven. Freak coffee is zo'n plek waar je naast je koffie ook hapjes en taartjes kunt eten zonder schuldgevoel. Ook voor je portemonnee. Niet groot, wel lekker om te zitten (vooral buiten).

"Delicious coffee and healthy snacks!"

4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

As you have seen in quite Ubud enough choice if you want to live healthy. Freak coffee is such a place where your next coffee you can eat snacks and cakes without guilt. Also for your wallet. Not large, but nice to sit (especially outside).

Madeleine, Haarlem, The Netherlands

 

“Friendly staff, good coffee, great dessert.”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile, May 2016

The staff are very sincere. The coffee taste much better than the other famous coffee place that ranked as the best coffee place in Ubud. I feel more relaxed hanging out in this place than in S*****n Coffee that's now the most hip spot to hang out in Ubud. Oh... Make sure you tty your coffee with the mint and goji berry raw chocolate desert. This place, the service, the ambiance is real. Will be back!!

Anoki2626, Central Java, Indonesia

 

“Best coffee in ubud so far”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile - Visited May 2016

I've tried a lot of coffee around Bali and this just may be the best so far. These people really are coffee freaks. Located right in the heart of hippy-yoga central on Jl Hanoman, the shop caters well to the neo-hippy coffee addict, serving both hard-line espresso and latte, alongside raw food snacks and a wild array of other Blisster (Bali Hipster) drinks. Damn fine for coffee if you ask me! Well done

Big Yob, Yogyakarta

 

“The best coffee in Ubud”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW - Visited May 2016

Great coffee and lovely staff. My local friend recommended this place and he loves coffee and is totally right this is the best place for coffee. Try it for yourself and you won't be disappointed.

scoot1404, Gold Coast, Australia

 

“Freaking good! Don't miss it!”

5 of 5 stars - Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile, Visited April 2016

烏布喝過最正點的咖啡!

環境隨性中帶點小頹廢,店裡很多嬉皮,人手一支煙,和在巴釐島遇到的大多數人一樣,大家都友善又黑皮。

點了冰的黑咖啡+椰奶+棕櫚糖漿,整個被迷住,真的是freaking good!在巴釐島喝過很多很贊的flat white,每天villa早餐的巴釐島黑咖啡也很不錯了,但和這家一比馬上就見高下!

雖然在31度的大熱天里沒有空調,周圍的人還不停的狂吸煙,晚上6點以後會開始被蚊子糾纏,還是真心的非常非常非常的推薦!!!

Auntie V, Taipei, Taiwan

 

“Great spot to chill”

5 of 5 Stars - Reviewed May 2016

Great spot for coffee and relax.
Simple cafe that serves good coffee and small cakes, very relaxing watching the cosmopolitan Ubud visitors walk by.

DavidvPerth, Perth, Australia

 

“I miss this place!”

Some of the best coffee ever, and the absolute best iced latte you'll ever have. Funky and cool and a great place to hang out with friends.

BaliDownDog, Sanur, Bali, Indonesia

“Great!”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2016

Great coffee and good vibe! Very friendly staff.  You can choose for non dairy milk like almond/soy/cashew and coconut milk which is pretty nice if you're vegan.

Debsssss

“отличный кофе”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday

отличная кофейня с хорошим кофе, вкусными десертами и неплохой едой. можно использовать для работы или просто отдохнуть. вкусный капучино и брауни

"great coffee"

5 of 5 stars Mar 31, 2016 A TripAdvisor Member
Excellent coffee shop with good coffee, delicious desserts and a good meal. It can be used for work or leisure. delicious cappuccino and brownies.

Poma M, Vietnam

“De allerbeste koffie van Ubud, nee Bali!”

5 of 5 stars Feb. 20, 2016

Nergens anders dan bij Freak Coffee hebben we zulke lekkere cappuccino gedronken. We zijn er de eerste keer toevallig terecht gekomen en de tweede keer er speciaal voor omgereden. De entourage is eenvoudig maar de bediening leuk vlot. De gasten zijn relaxed van divers pluimage, net zo als in heel Ubud. Er is prima gratis internet en ze hebben lekkere taartjes

Jelle U, Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Google Translation:

"The best coffee in Ubud, No, Bali!"

5 of 5 stars Feb 20, 2016

Nowhere else than in Freak coffee we drank such a yummy cappuccino. We have entered the first time by chance and the second time there specifically for detours. The entourage is simple but nice smooth operation. Guests are relaxed of various sorts, just as in all of Ubud. There is good free internet and they have yummy cakes.

“Amazing lattes!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed NEW Visited February 2016

I loved getting lattes and their fruit/yogurt parfait. Very delicious and good prices. Small food menu so not the best for breakfast but great coffee.  D Shafer, Brooklyn, NY

 

“美味しい!”  "Delicious!"

4 of 5 stars Visited December 2015

アメリカーノを頼みましたが、香りもよくとても美味しく頂きました。
店内もオシャレなので、せっかくならもうちょい清潔感あった方がいいかも。
バリ島基準なら普通なのでしょうが。
I ordered the Americano , but fragrance has also been well received very delicious .  Because the store is also fashionable , it might be better there was Mochoi clean feeling if pains .
Although Will a normal and if Bali standards.
     slimsugar, Tokyo, Japan

 

“Der beste Kaffee in Ubud”

5 of 5 stars -  Reviewed December 14, 2015

Hier sitzt man entspannt bei einem leckeren und günstigen Cappuccino und natürlich free wifi. Top location.                                  Massaimar Wiehl, Germany

Google Translation:

"The Best Coffee in Ubud"

Here you are relaxed with a delicious and cheap cappuccino and of course free wifi. Top location.

 

“Back again in FREAK coffee :)”

5 of 5 stars - Reviewed December 5, 2015

Wir hatten über diese Tage mehrere Hot Chais, mehrere Cappuccinos und einen Mango Juice. Die waren jeweils alle sehr lecker. Der Mango Juice war aus aromatischen und frischen Mangos und ungesüsst, was wir sehr begrüssten. Sehr lecker.

Wir haben die Zeit sehr gerne dort verbracht und kommen wieder, wenn wir wieder nach Ubud kommen.

Und noch ein spezielles und grosses DANKE an den fröhlichen Nurag.

Google Translation:

We had this day several hot chais, several cappuccinos and Mango Juice. They were each all delicious. The Mango Juice was from aromatic and fresh mangoes and unsweetened, which was much welcomed. Delicious. We spent the time very happy there and will be back when we return to Ubud. And one more special and big thanks to the cheerful Nurag.                                       Swiss Wallaby, Switzerland

 

“Great coffee in casual café / lounge / street setting”

4 of 5 stars..........Reviewed November 9, 2015 NEW

Great place for coffee, big range of hot and cold options, plus the usual brownies and stuff and a bit of a breakfast menu, e.g. eggs. Also more unusual stuff like a whole coconut. 20,000 for a latte seemed like a good deal and the coffee was superb. Bit hot inside was the only drawback. Free WIFI, sofas.                                                                                                                     ahalllwell2006, Kelowna, Canada

 

“Really relaxed place on a side street, best soy latte in Indonesia ”

5 of 5 stars.........Reviewed October 25, 2015 NEW

I've been searching for a great soy latte in Indonesia for 7 months. The one made for me at Freak is pretty bloody close to Melbourne standards. Only thing different is the slightly too sweet soy milk that seems to be the only soy milk in Indo, but it was pretty much same as latte with 1 sugar. Make sure they make it with a double shot. I also had the lime juice with a little sugar, which was really refreshing. The staff are genuinely friendly and there was much dropping in and out of friends and a lot of smiling and laughing. Great relaxed energy to this place. The padded bench seats out front are set back from the footpath and great for watching the world pass by. I returned to Freak every day of my trip. Tried 2 other places for soy latte but this was the best. The raw choc slices were amazing also. Mint and goji berry, and raisin cashew. 
Whereist C, Melbourne, Australia
 

“Best Coffee in Bali”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 NEW

We are avid coffee lovers an have found a number of good coffee shops in Bali and need to report that Freak is the best. Normally a double shot for us but here a single is well and truly sufficient, excellent! Small and cosy with delightful staff.

NIcholas B Pennroyal

 

“Yippee....best coffee in Ubud”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 NEW

I am bit of a caffeine fiend and it is always a relief to find somewhere with an excellent espresso. Tutmak had been a favourite but FREAK is now my new favourite coffee place in Ubud.
Great coffee at a good price. Highly recommend to those looking for an espresso hit!!

Lake Elldon, Victoria, Australia

 

“Best coffee, best price”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 NEW

For me, the best coffee in Ubud at an excellent price. Very centrally located, the people who work there are lovely and very nice site. Since i discovered it, i cannot stop coming here.
Carol I, Valencia, Spain

 

“It should be the #1 Coffee in Ubud!!”

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015 NEW

We love coffee and since arriving in Ubud we made it our mission to visit all the top coffee places listed on TA to decide which one is the best.
We order coffee, basic, black, no bells and whistles so we can really taste the coffee and not have anything cover it up.
Long story short...FREAK cafe is the best coffee place in Ubud! Oh for so many reasons; location on Hanoman Street in the center of town, the coffee used is excellent, not bitter, not burnt, strong, flavorful and rich. The healthy, environmentally conscience vibe just adds to the whole experience.
Delicious raw vegan snacks you can enjoy on comfy seats. Several milk options, cashew, coconut, soy, almond and regular. No pressure to leave, great WiFi and friendly staff. Our only disappointment is that they don't sell t-shirts, coffee mugs or anything with their logo. It's awesome. If you come by and like the place let others know. FREAK deserves to be #1 in Ubud.

BikeWalla, San Diego, California

 

“Best coffee in Ubud”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 NEW

This place is the best! Raw and (mostly) vegan treats, coupled with the best coffee I've had in Bali. Iced, hot, coffee, tea, chai, soy etc, the drink list is extensive and the setting is relaxed.
Jen M Melbourne, Australia

 

“My favourite coffee/hang out in Ubud”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 NEW

I absolutely adored Freak Coffee and had a coffee here most days of my stay. Really laid back but trendy cafe with a unique shop attached to it. Staff were friendly and provided excellent service. Free wi-fi and a relaxed atmosphere made this a perfect spot to chill out and watch the street action.
Being a vegan I was impressed about getting an iced coconut milk coffee for $3 Au. They also had vegan ice-cream!!! Unfortunately the staff didn't seem to understand the difference between vegan and vegetarian as all but a couple of the divine looking treats had honey in them. The one dessert/bliss ball that I did have was perfection though and cheaper than other healthy establishments in the area. I would love to see an extended menu with more vegan options but otherwise I am a very satisfied customer.

Avon, Victoria, Australia

"Fika"

4 of 5 stars, July 4, 2015

"Gott kaffe, varmt som kallt! Goda organiska bakverk. Enkelt och avslappnat ställe att sitta o chilla på. Anledningen till att det inte får fem stjärnor beror på att det hade varit fint med andra mer mättande alternativ som någon wrap eller smoothie."
Emelierolen, Sweden

Translation:

"Plenty of coffee, hot and cold! Good organic pastries. Easy and relaxed place to sit chilling out on. The reason it does not get five stars is because it would have been fine with other more filling options like any wrap or smoothie."
Emelierolen, Sweden

“My happiness place”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

Been in Ubud for over a year, and this has been from the beginning, the place i come for a rich dose of happiness ))
The coffee is great, but the people who work there are what makes this THE best place for coffee stop in Ubud. SO friendly and lovingly generous. I even call one beautiful lady there my 'mum' as she and the others genuinely care as they know you and you feel as part of their extended family.
Have sat, at times for hours with friends talking / sharing and at times with new friends just met speaking learning sharing experiences. Such a good place to meet and get a dose of rich shared experiences. When in UBud is a daily stop for me, often twice daily, as i know i can go there anytime and feel fully welcomed, appreciated and cared for.
So highly urge you to have a Freak experience yourself.

Heath S, Ubud, Bali, Indonesia

“Coffee shop zen ”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 NEW

Coffee shop dans la zen attitude à l'image des hipsters de Ubud : un café, un ordi et une petite musique zen ... Tout ça dans la chaleur de Bali
RBO15 - Paris, France

“Best coffee in Indonesia”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 NEW

For me, Freak coffee is the best coffee in Indonesia, its organic and strong.
The staff is very nice, if you are in Ubud dont forget to try Freak Coffee. 
                                                                                         Gobind V

“Delicious!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

What a precious little shop! Delicious cappuccino and amazing raw chocolate blocks. Will definitely be back!    834mariluv              

“Best coffee in Bali!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

Seriously good coffee and great friendly staff! They also sell amazing guilt free ice cream! Went back in several occasions and looking forward to coming back to freak next time!
Lauren W., Port Lincoln, South Australia, Australia

"Lovely drink"

4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15 , 2015 NEW

I love the Balinese coffee, and in this place it is especially delicious. The place itself is interesting , but very unpretentious.
Vladivostok, Russia

"Best coffee in my life!"

Apr 13, 2015Traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

The best coffee I've ever tasted. The thing is that they bring green coffee from Bali Kintamani mountains and right in their cafe roast and ground for a maximum of 24 hours before serving. The result is an incredibly delicious coffee, and from it only increases productivity, with no side effects such as palpitations and trembling hands as from regular coffee.
Kate Petrova, Ubud, Bali

“A raw foodie, coffee lovers delight”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 NEW

Ran in here quickly one morning on our way out to go touring for the day, as the coffee at our resort was not great! We were pleasantly surprised and wished we'd had time to just sit and enjoy the chilled atmosphere.
We ordered Spiced Latte, 2 cappuccinos and 4 little chocolates. The spiced latte was amazing! Better than any chai I've ever had - it was not sweetened (my preference), and the balance of spice was perfect. The caps were great too from what the others tell me, and it definitely gave us the kick we needed to start our day!
The chocolates were mint, orange and vanilla are were just divine - I love Bali style chocolate, dark and no milk added.
They also had a range of raw cheesecakes and brownies and other sweet goodies. The breakfast menu looked great too.
Will definitely go back and spend more time there next time we're in Ubud.

danandmel2012,  Stirling, Australia

“Excellent coffee.”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 NEW

Came across this place while wandering, and decided it was time for a coffee! All the drinks we tried were good, the coffee was excellent, and it was a nice place to sit and people-watch.   Megan C, Melbourne, Australia

“Great coffee -”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 NEW

Go 3/4 full if you want more strength. Pity they don't have much food to go with it... That would be a perfect start to the day in Ubud
Talie K.

“Coffee for coffee freaks”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 NEW

Melbourne likes to call itself the coffee capital of Australia and we Melbournians can be pretty fussy about it. So I was delighted to discover that Freak was every bit as good as my daughter claimed it to be.

If
you are after a traditional (Aussie) favourite, a Double-shot Cafe Latte, you will find an excellent one here. But try something different too, like the cold-pressed espresso served as an Ice Coffee. And try that with Cashew Milk.

Most of the food and drinks at Freak are Vegan but dont let that dissuade you or think that is an excuse for food not being exceptional. I would choose their cakes and slices regardless of their origin and I am certainly not Vegan! I tried their Chocolate/Coconut slice and their Lemon pie.


Neville J, Melbourne, Australia

“Best Coffee in Ubud”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015 NEW

I really enjoy my coffee back in Australia and Freak Coffee lived up to the quality of better coffee shops back home. We came back multiple times and the owner even called our driver for us to take us back to our hotel.
Stuart H

“Feiner Kaffe :)”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 NEW via mobile

Trotz der recht stark befahrenen Strasse davor ein sehr guter Shop mit feinem Kaffee und freiem Wifi. Wenn ich in Ubud bin, besuche ich das Kaffee immer gerne. Sehr freundliches Personal.       
SwissWallaby, Schweiz

Google Translation:

"Fine Coffee :)"
"In spite of the rather very used street before it a very good shop with fine coffee and free Wifi. If I am in Ubud, I visit the coffee always with pleasure. Very friendly staff."

“Coffee!!!!”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 NEW

I love my coffee and this was a great espresso, not bitter, great crema. Best I have had in Ubud. The soy flat white was nice, strong and drinkable.     Don E

“Best Coffee in Ubud”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014 NEW

The coffee is amazing. The place is a bit small but lovely. The home made sugar is a highlight.
I regret i didn't try it early enough to enjoy it on daily basis.
  M. Fattah, Cairo, Egypt

“Terrific Coffee”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 NEW

Really cute little cafe just south of central Ubud serving delicious coffee. They also do a bunch of interesting looking cakes as well. Friendly service with some nice art on the walls. Worth checking out.  BrynNomad, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

“Great coffee w/ choice of milk”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014 NEW

"Love the choices of milks (coconut, cashew etc) very high quality coffee and friendly staff. Convenient location right in the middle of Hanoman."    Amy, San Francisco, California

“Super mulus....”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 NEW

"Saya suka rasa kopi di sini . Itu selalu diseduh untuk kesempurnaan . Kopi terbaik di Bali bagi saya. Kafe kecil ini adalah di Jalan Hanoman , dekat dengan persimpangan dengan Jalan Dewi Sita."       HunkiDori, Luang Prabang

Translation:

Traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars
"Super smooth ...."

Nov 4, 2014A TripAdvisor Member

"I like the taste of coffee here. It is always brewed to perfection. Best coffee in Bali for me. This little cafe is at Hanuman Road, near the junction with Jalan Dewi Sita."     HunkiDori, Luang Prabang

“Best coffee in Ubud!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

Drank coffee here everyday during my 3 week stay. Superb coffee,friendly staff! As a coffee lover can only recommend you try this lovely establishment!

Walshie, Christ Church, New Zealand

“Freak Coffee - Yes I am a coffee freak and this is the best place to get coffee in Ubud”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 NEW

I'm a self proclaimed coffee addict and a bit of a coffee snob, I absolutely adore having a good cup of coffee. Love the smell, taste and pick me up. I like it strong but smooth (not bitter or burnt). If of-course options are limited I will drink pretty much anything for the caffeine but having a good coffee will make my day when in need of a pick-me-up. The coffee at Freak Coffee was really exceptional. Not much else on the menu but coffee but definitely the best coffee I had while in Ubud. Shame I didn't stumble across it earlier. I was told Anomali Coffee on the main road was the best...but in my opinion the coffee here was better.
Jana D., Sydney, New South Wales Australia

“Coffee Time”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 NEW

Отличный кофе, приятные работники, интерьер достаточно скромный, зайти на пять минут передохнуть за чашкой вкусного напитка - не более.  Pavel N

 Translation:

"Coffee Time"

Great coffee, nice staff, the interior quite modest, stop for five minutes to rest with a cup of delicious drink - no more.

“Great Coffee”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 September 2014 NEW

"We kept going back for more. The coffee was absolutely delicious. We even bought a few bags to bring home."
Maebh101

“best coffee in bali”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 September 2014 NEW

This is not only the best coffee in bali but the most ethical. As I don't drink milk it was great to have 3 non-dairy options soy, cashew and coconut milk-I never thought coconut milk would work with coffee but I'm now converted-it's much nicer than soy or cashew. They also have some delicious raw and vegan snacks to have with your coffee-awesome!     Matt Mackay, Sorrento, Australia

“Perfect coffee”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 August 2014 NEW

Coffee is flawless here and the minimalist design is nice. and they let me use the staff bathroom out the back to wash my hands :)  Verity H

“Great coffee”
 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 August 2014 NEW

Some of the best expresso/flat whites that you will find in Ubud. Great place to take respite from the market trawl.
Robert B. Redland City, Australia

“Stop looking. This is the best coffee in Ubud. ”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 July 2014 NEW

I am a self proclaimed coffee geek.I tried the usual (and unusual) suspects in Ubud for a good brew and whilst some were quite good, I couldn't find the perfect one until I found Freak. I also bought some coffee beans to grind back in my room and guess what, amazing. For 50K you can get 250g where Anomali and Seniman sell for 85k or more. I tried the brownie cake, was a bit dry but OK. Id only go for coffee next time.  Ramy, Dubai

“ウブドでコーヒーを飲むならここ”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

フレッシュローストにこだわったキンタマーニ産オーガニックコーヒーのお店。

アノマリやスニマンコーヒーなどライバルも多いですが、私はこちらのコーヒーが一番好きです。

ハノマン通りとデウィシタ通りの角に近く、お買い物に疲れたらちょっと一休みできるロケーションもいいです。
ilovelotus, Singapore, SingaporeVisited July 2014

Here is the Google Translation:
 
Traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars

"Here If you drink coffee in Ubud"
Jul 18, 2014A TripAdvisor Member
Shops of Kintamani organic coffee production and attention to fresh roast. Rivals such as Suni Mankohi Anomaly and there are also many, but I like best coffee here. It is a good location where you can rest a little closer, if you tired of shopping at the corner of the street and Deu~ishita Hanoman Street.

“One of the best coffees in Bali!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 NEW

Great latte's and iced coffees - Definitely recommend if you are looking for a place with free Wifi and good coffee.   Steph T., Melbourne, Australia

“Best coffee in Ubud”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 NEW

If you like a strong cappuccino then Freak is for you. If only I could buy a coffee in Perth as good as this. Great location and friendly staff. Just perfect.
Macka, Perth, Australia

“espresso divin”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Très bon espresso.
Café située sur Jalan Hanoman, dans le centre d'Ubud.
Petit mais relativement sympa, le lieu est agréable.
D'excellents cafés locaux, service agréable prix très correct.    
Aurelien, Lille, France

“One of the best lattes of my life!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are in Ubud come here and nowhere else for coffee. Just finished my first cup here and had to write a review. Freshly roasted beans everyday. Perfectly nutty and just the right amount of milk. They also offer shakes, teas, juices, and healthy sweets. You can choose your milk: soy, coconut, or cashew. Seating is limited, so come early and share the couch.     Katyousha, Reno, Nevada

“Fabulous coffee! Offers cashew milk and other alternatives too!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Yum! This coffee was delicious. Raw treats are available and the coffee is only $2.20 Loved that there were different choices for the milk.  Mei, Perth, Australia

“Excellent coffee freaks!!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This coffee serves and excellent coffee from the moutains of Kintamani. They know their business, the latte and all othe coffees are great. Very friendly staff and reasonable prices. Also the coconut milk from a fresh coconut is very very good. If you are in Ubud, go there for a relaxing break.  Sebastian B. Zurich, Switzerland

“Just simply yummy”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Had a stop over here after a long walk in the humid heat and it just did its thing. Cozy and cool place with ceiling fans and of course their coffee-mmmmm to die for. Really really good!
A must try place. 
  Jezdee, Boracay, Philippines

“Cashew cow or coconut milk. Heavan !!!!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014
When asked which of the above nut milks you want w ur ice coffee you have to love the place. They probably had soya too but w what else is on offer why go there :).
Fast internet friendly service. 
FlowerPetalBlooming, Copenhagen, Denmark

“Best coffee anywhere”

I love my coffee, I drink Espressos and I drink a lot of them. Whenever I can I choose outlets that serve Freak Coffee.
The coffee here is great for two reasons. Firstly the coffee beans are fantastic and freshly roasted and secondly every espresso is timed and made in exactly the same way. The cafe is quaint and the staff are great. Always smiling and chatty. Well worth a visit.     
Nick, Bali, Indonesia

“Best Coffee In the World”

I'm a true coffee freak; but I had no idea how good coffee could be until I got here. I've had coffee around the world, and I'm now completely addicted to Freak's coconut cream lattes. You MUST have one! Or Two. Also, try the cold-pressed coffee in the glass bottles; while living in Bali recently I started packing one around in my backpack with me for a quick shot here and there. Miss you guys, I'll be back soon!    Bantha, Ubud, Bali

When I walked alongjln Hanoman, found this little cute coffee shop, noticed that the price is reasonable, so stepped in, and have a cup of cappucino, wow, great coffee with lower price! you can try some local desserts here too!   Lai S, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Come enjoy a cold pressed coffee with coconut cream. WOW! Its like a coffee ice cream treat.  Staff is always smiling. Coffee is consistently great. I always keep a bottle at home to make my own.    Erin R, Ubud, Bali

In Ubud for a week, I stopped in FREAK every day. The cappuccino is great! Served with a crunchy chocolate chip cookie on the side - a nice little treat. The couches are comfortable, there is free wifi, and the baristas are friendly.
The coffee is organic - grown in Kintamani - so it doesn't have time to dry out and become tasteless in its travels. It's hard to find an excellent cup of coffee in Bali, and a good espresso is even more rare. If you like a sweetened brew, enjoy the delicious Bali sugar (coconut palm sugar) which is in a jar on every table. Diabetics can use it freely - it is so low in carbs.
I bought their nice quality t-shirt (FREAK Coffee and a monkey in the middle) and it reminds me of fond memories in Ubud.    
Kerry Lee, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

 

"I have wanted to roast coffee for a couple of decades, but never found the equipment, level of integrity, nor passion in a company as I searched for someone to teach and train me, sell me equipment, offer me the depth of knowledge I desired to embody the essence of coffee.

And then I ran across Asher Yaron’s Ted Talk.  I knew immediately he was THE individual to mentor me.

Asher provides not only a degree of knowledge that most roast companies cannot offer, but a level of experience, passion, and intimacy with the bean and process, plus an understanding of the body and how a true food can affect it –both positively and negatively.

Asher provides a beautifully simple machine for roasting, set up and training, equipment and suppliers necessary to make the process simple, effective, and successful.  He tailored things to my market and demographics, encouraged me to see the possibilities,

He created the roaster, shipped it, set it up, tested and trained me on it, worked with me on various green bean options and ordering, power needs, the art as well as the science of the roast, and cold press production.

I cannot speak highly enough of Mr. Yaron and my experience, the equipment, the individual tailoring to me needs".

Mimi Chatwood, Crested Butte, Colorado (http://mountainmaidcoffee.com/)

 

“Love F.R.E.A.K. coffee”
 

We went out of our way to look for this new Cafe because I couldn't get the cold pressed at the original place any more. The coffee is delicious - strong, rich, fresh. Excellent quality no matter what the style coffee you order.   

Linda Moselle, New York, New York                                                  

 

“Best Coffee I have ever tried”
 

“FREAK is possibly the best coffee I have tried so far. it tastes even better when you take a moment to talk to the owner, Asher, if he is around and find out the great story behind it all! I won't say anything so you can ask yourself. Not only is freshly roasted local coffee but if you are really into it you can go visit the plantation on Kintamani and get full sense of the process. I had about 3 coffees and haven't tasted anything that matches since I left Bali, which means I have to get back there!  Sustainable and great taste!”             

Natascia Radice, Dubai, UAE, Organizer TEDx Dubai

 

“F.R.E.A.K.ing good”
 

“Love this cafe! Chic and central. Great live music. The coffee is the best on island and great pastry menu. Well done Asher......A wonderful place to meet friends and talk for hours, to sit quietly with the newspaper/book or to watch the Ubud world go by.
Love it. A second coffee please!!!”

Shaun McGurgan, Ubud, Bali

 

“FREAK'n Great Coffee That's Remarkably Sustainable”
 

“During a recent trip to Bali I had the pleasure of visiting FREAK Cafe. I am pretty selective about my coffee, as we have great emerging roasters here in San Diego, California. That being said, the level of quality at FREAK was a delicious surprise. I was planning on staying at the cafe for an hour, but stayed an extra two. Quality is the name of the game and it is present in every drink -- be it hot or cold. As if that alone wasn't enough, Asher (the welcoming owner) and his superb staff great you with a smile, share insights about their products (including how they are made and the health benefits associated with FRESHLY roasted coffee), making you feel right at home. Because the coffee is 100% Balinese, utilizing a socially and environmentally sustainable production process, sipping this homegrown coffee will make you feel great. Enjoy this coffee with friends, conserve the environment, and support local Balinese communities.”

Jarrod R, San Diego, CA

 

“the smell of perfection!”
 

“Whether you order up a cappuccino or take home a bag of beans, you can't really go wrong.
I have never met anyone so passionate about coffee or so ideally suited to running FREAK. Asher's a fantastic person to have at the helm of this enterprise - which is oh so much more than a coffee shop.”
Drop in because the coffee is the best. Go back because you love the vision.

Chris Saye, Singapore

 

“FREAK coffee is ridiculously good” “
 

I first came across FREAK coffee upon my first trip to Ubud in 2011 and my yoga teacher talked about this "cold pressed coffee" he swears by every morning at 4:30am when he wakes for his early morning practice. So i found the place on Hanoman St that same trip - best coffee i ever tasted by far. I have since started ordering Asher's FREAK coffee to supply our boutique villas in the south of Bali since I couldn't allow myself or our guests drink any other muck that was sold as 'coffee' when this 'gold' was grown, roasted, prepared with love only a short drive away. Enjoy it.”

Misha Golowyn, Cape St. Francis, South Africa

 

“Their cold pressed coffee is addicting”
 

“I'm a regular coffee drinker and really appreciate a cup of good ol' coffee. This coffee spot is a must if you're visiting Bali, and I can say their cold pressed coffee is worth the trip to Ubud. I ended up buying bottles of cold pressed instead of cups, it really is amazing coffee! A whole learning experience comes with just walking in their cozy place, they really live by their motto of bringing the freshest coffee and you'll feel the difference right after the first sip. Try an iced cold pressed with coconut milk and palm sugar, to die for.”

Daniela Burr, New York City, New York, Organizer TEDx Ubud,, Bali

 

“Best coffee on the island by far!”
 

“Asher the owner is a passionate "freak" about coffee. Freshly roasted daily, simply delicious, organically grown locally in the Bali "high" mountains. Got to try the cold pressed......low acid and full power!”

Anthony “Prem” Carlisi, Ubud, Bali, Author, Yoga Instructor

 

“REAL Coffee in Bali”
 

“Prayers are not often answered in life. On arrival in Bali I found myself looking to the island's Gods for some good coffee....Bali Coffee was a big disappointment. I then found FREAK...or FREAK found me. This coffee is alive! Your cup is its stage. It talks back like a sassy child and gives you a kick in the backside when you need it. Drink FREAK and you will find that when you leave Bali you will again be praying for coffee....nothing else quite compares.”

David Facey, Ubud, Bali

 

“Truly the best coffee in Bali”
 

“FREAK is one of the great treats of coming to Bali and visiting Ubud. The coffee is grown on island, fresh roasted daily and served to perfection. Asher, the owner, has been passionate about coffee for years and it shows. Most importantly the coffee smells and tastes amazing and you have so many choices from the friendly staff. Some even say the best coffee they have ever had anywhere!”    "I am at the Freak (Sayan) now. Good service, excellent coffee (you have trained them well, Obiwan), good music, good Internet connection. I give a hearty 10/10.

Thanks. Long live the FREAK!"                                                                                 

Christopher Thompson, GM, The Green School, Bali, Indonesia

 

“F.R.E.A.K. Coffee in Ubud Bali WOW”
 

“It's difficult to find great coffee in Bali. Stumbled across this cafe in Ubud called F.R.E.A.K.  Wow. Great tasting coffee and the people behind the counter seemed to be very passionate about coffee. I had a vanilla cafe latte to die for. My wife had a cappuccino with coconut and loved it and my son had a babycino. Great stuff.”Kevin B, Coolangatta, Australia

“Best coffee I have experienced”  Asher has nailed it. The cold pressed coffee is a must try for anyone visiting Ubud. Locally grown and as fresh as it can get. This guy knows his stuff. Be careful though, FREAK is like the land of the lotus eaters.. you get caught there and it is hard to leave!   Wes D., Australia

 

“Best coffee in Bali” 

I live in Ubud about one year. And i visit this place almost every day. This is really amazing coffee. I began my day from coffee Latte (and feel absolutely happy) You can meet there Asher owner of this place, and he is magic person! If you are in Ubud you must visit F.R.E.A.K.   Alina V., Moscow

 

“The best coffee in Bali” 

I visited F.R.E.A.K. (Fresh Roasted Enak Arabica from Kintamani) on a few occasions during my time in Ubud. I come from a Southern European background where coffee really is a big deal. The coffee at F.R.E.A.K. was possibly one of the best I have ever tried.  If you are in Ubud and love coffee you must visit F.R.E.A.K. Ben F., Sydney, Australia

 

“A must visit if you love coffee” 

Down to earth and yet knowledgeable, these guys are a world apart. A variety of hot and cold drinks from traditional espresso machine and cold-pressed systems, something for yogis and 3rd wave coffee aficionados to enjoy. With locally sourced and roasted beans. Asher and his team also serve some sweet decadent yet healthy snacks.   Julian G., Montreal, Quebec, Canada

 

“Best coffee in Ubud” 

By far the best coffee in Ubud. I totaly wuld have missed it my motorbike didn't break down, which luckily it happened to.  The coffee is much much better than the other Indonesia coffee I tried in Bali in the "trendy" cafes and restaurants. Jkt Media, Juba

 

“F.R.E.A.K. Coffee....the best in town!!” 

I have been a big fan of FREAK coffee since its' inception in Bali a few years ago!! The biggest testament to FREAK is that my husband (who was a confirmed non-coffee drinker for almost 50 years) was immediately turned onto to Asher's famous 'cold press'. Since we are both hooked on FREAK, everything else tastes bitter now. The little cafe on Hanoman is a gem....small, cozy, comfortable couches and friendly staff! My personal favorite...iced spiced island, for a taste of Bali!   Wendy W., Ubud, Bali and New York, New York

 

“Proof is in the drinking!” 

This is a little story about my coffee experience in Ubud recently. I live in Ubud and am a regular FREAK coffee drinker. I knew it was good, but didn't really realize HOW good until last week. I was heading out of town for the week and stopped by FREAK to pick up some beans which I would then grind at home, and take with me along with my little traveling French Press. Okay, so I LOVE coffee... Sadly, every cafe was out, and after checking the shops in Singakerta, Jl. Hanoman and Green School, I decided that I would need to buy elsewhere, and headed to Anomaly, the new cafe on the corner of Jl. Hanoman and Jl. Raya. It is a stylish cafe and the coffee smelled decent. One package was labeled as Organic but I was then told that all of them were organic. (Not sure about that, and would be surprised if that were so...) I forked out the 70,000 for the smallish bag, and brought it home to pack for my little island getaway. The next morning, I made my coffee and although it tasted a little bitter, thought that I might adjust to the taste. Over the course of the next 4 days, my morning cup size dwindled. On the day of my return, I came home and bought a bag of FREAK coffee, ground it up and had my long awaited cup-o-java...SO SO GOOD! It was at that moment that I couldn't even drink the rest of the other coffee, and ended up tossing it in the bin! I am pretty frugal, but in that moment, the difference in quality was simply far too blatant to ignore. Lesson learned: don't wait until the last minute for your takeaway beans....   Jamie, W., Ubud, Bali

 

“Simply The Best!!!!!” 

It is hard for a brazilian assume that this is the best coffee in the world. But it is. As a travel writer I have been drinking coffee in more then 50 countries and I have no doubt. It is. And then I thought: I have to know more about this staff. I follow Mr. Asher to the mountains in Kintamani and I saw: everything organic, what a cherry. Then I saw he roasting every afternoon the fresh beans. When he put in the machine, it is a volcano. And it is just more and more then caffeine...there are thousands of good feelings and sensations. Of course there is a dark side: it is totally addicted. OMG, how I will survive without this black magic?   Eduardo Petta from Brazil

 

“First class coffee, great little hangout!” 

As an Ubud resident and hopeless coffee connoisseur, this is one of my favorite hangouts, and probably serves the best coffee in Bali.   Freak doesn't try to be a full service cafe serving everything; their focus is clearly on great coffee in its various forms.
The friendly founder/owner, Asher, is often on hand to personally churn out steaming hot cups of rich aromatic stuff - which he sources from North Bali and roasts daily in-house. I also love their cold-press coffee - killer stuff sold in bottles to be kept in the fridge at home and pulled out during a hot afternoon iced coffee craving.
Although this isn't a place for full meals, Freak contains a small counter by White Box patisserie serving a wide range of pastries, which is a nice touch.
I also love this place because it is down-to-earth and cozy (think bean bags and low wooden furniture) and just a great little 'caffeine refueling' oasis in the middle of bustling Hanoman Street :)   Daniel Ziv, Documentary Filmmaker, Writer, Jakarta, Indonesia and Ubud, Bali